The Dirk Award
Past Recipients

Sign Up to Stay Informed!
Give us your email address and we'll keep you up to date about the Dirk Award and future recipients!


The Dirk Award

2005 Recipient


The Dirk Award Committee was honored to announce Ungana-Afrika as the 2005 winner of the Dirk Award.

Rudi von Staden and Toni Eliasz accepted the 2005 award on behalf of Ungana-Afrika during the World Summit on Information Society in Tunis, Tunisia.

Ungana-Afrika provides innovative technology support to NGOs in Southern Africa. Ungana-Afrika believes that information and communication technologies (ICTs) offer new opportunities for African community-based and development organizations to do what they do better.

With its emphasis on technology, social justice, and community empowerment, the small staff of Ungana-Afrika has taken the principles of eRiding to innovative new levels with its trainings and capacity-building workshops and innovative projects such as those focusing on community radio and free and open source software within an African context.

Ungana-Afrika further works tirelessly to assure that the eRiding model takes hold in the Southern Africa region by working with other organizations in the region on developing their own eRiding projects. It makes its learnings and materials widely available under Creative Commons license and its staff are active community participants in the international eRider Network. The organisation is supported by Soros Foundations Network and the Government of Finland.

eRiders are one of the largest global resources of ICT capacity building for development organizations and work in a world-wide movement with growing representation in more than 20 countries.

The Committee of previous Dirk Award recipients and the global eRider and nonprofit technology support community congratulate Ungana-Afrika and its staff Toni Eliasz, Ryan Jacobs, Angel Kgokolo, Tshepo Thlaku, and Rudi von Staden for visionary and exemplary work! is maintained by the Dirk Award Commitee | Privacy Policy


The Dirk Award